Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Men and Women 30 years and older are eligible to join the VCV.

All riders must be current VCV members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to those who have not raced with the Vets in the last 5 years.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

vvcc_open

VCV Open races can be entered online via the VCV Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

Results

Club Races
Fyans Creek 43.5km Handicap
Sunday 29th September 2019

The Field

  peter
  Peter Wemyss

Scratch
Sean Prins, Edwin Irvine, Peter Wemyss, Peter Parnaby and Frank Kean.

18.00 minutes
Kevin Grellet, John McIntyre and Peter Mayo


How the Race Unfolded.
A tail wind sent the riders off at a good speed, with averages up at the turn, but the final leg was into the wind.

At the 26km mark where the riders turned, the limit riders had averaged just over 31kph, and held about a 7 minutes lead with 18.5km to go, all indicators pointing to a close finish.

The final 5km was into the wind, and the scratch riders had a numerical advantage, reeling the limit riders in at the final turn with 800 metres to go. Peter Wemyss got the better of Sean Prins in the sprint, with Edwin Irvine third.


Race Results
1st Peter Wemyss
2nd Sean Prins
3rd Edwin Irvine
4th Kevin Grellet


Winners Time
Peter Wemyss - 1 hour 08 minutes 24 seconds
Average speed of 38.2kph

Fastest Time
Peter Wemyss - 1 hour 08 minutes 24 seconds
Average speed of 38.2kph

Averages at the turn 26km
Limit - 31.05kph
Scratch - 40.31kph

Averages at the finish
Limit - 30.19kph
Scratch - 38.2kph

 

Weather Conditions
Lightish to medium southerly wind.

 





 

     

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

john

John McIntyre
Took out the Fyans Creek Handicap from Kevin Grellet and Terri Clarke.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
 
2019
Sunday 27th Oct
Sunday 20th Oct
Sunday 13th Oct
Sunday 6th Oct
Sunday 29th Sept
Sunday 22nd Sept
Sunday 15th Sept
Sunday 8th Sept
Sunday 1st Sept
Sunday 23rd June
Sunday 9th June
Sunday 2nd June
Sunday 19th May
Sunday 12th May
Sunday 5th May
Sunday 28th April
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership