Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.


Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VCV.

All riders must be current VCV members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to those who have not raced with the Vets in the last 5 years.

More info on our Membership Page
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Membership Form


VCV Open races can be entered online via the VCV Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.


Club Races
Landsborough West 50km Handicap
Sunday 23rd June 2019

The Field

  meg parnaby
  Meg Parnaby

Peter Wemyss, Aidan Leahy and Frank Kean.

6.30 minutes
Peter Parnaby, Dean Hayward and Les Dunn

13.45 minutes
Kevin Grellet and Terri Clarke

19.30 minutes
Kevin Grellet and Terri Clarke

How the Race Unfolded.
A cool 4 degrees but virtually no wind greeted the field who lined up for the out and back race from Stawell to Landsborough West.

Limit riders Crystal Wemyss, Kevin Grellet and Terri Clarke had mixed fortunes, with Grellet not feeling up to form, and Crystal Wemyss striking out on her own about 7km before the turn at Landsborough West.

Meg Parnaby and John McIntyre made good time to the turn and were only two minutes 15 seconds behind Crystal Wemyss, while Peter Parnaby, Dean Hayward and Les Dunn rode solidly to be a further 3 minutes back.

Scratch riders Peter Wemyss, Frank Kean and Aidan Leahy rode well to the turn, but lost Leahy just before, who was also not having a good legs day. They were 3 minutes behind second scratch.

On the return journey, the second limit riders caught Crytal Wemyss on the long hill after the Joel South turn off, then all worked together to try to hold of the chasing field.

However the second scratch riders were closing fast over the final stages of the race, with scratch also closing fast on them.

Up the final hill to the line, Meg Parnaby and John McIntyre made a bid for the line, chased by Peter Parnaby and Dean Hayward. At this stage scratch were only several hundred metres behind.

Meg Parnaby just held on to take line honours, one second ahead of John McIntyre, and anothe second in front of Peter Parnaby who placed third. Scratch finished 20 seconds behind the winner, with Frank Kean taking out fastest race time of 1 hour 22 minutes and 20 seconds.

Race Results
1st Meg Parnaby
2nd John McIntyre
3rd Peter Parnaby
4th Dean Hayward

Winners Time
Meg Parnaby - 1 hour 35 minutes 45 seconds
Average speed of 31.33kph

Fastest Time
Frank Kean - 1 hour 22 minutes 20 seconds
Average speed of 36.43kph

Averages at turn 26km
Limit - 29kph
2nd Limit - 31.2kph
2nd Scratch - 34kph
Scratch - 36.98kph

Averages at the finish
Limit - 29.5kph
2nd Limit - 31.41kph
2nd Scratch - 33.9kph
Scratch - 36.43kph


Weather Conditions
Very light south easterly but hardly any wind.






Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races


Meg Parnaby
held off a fast finishing hubby to take out the Landsborough West Handicap

Latest Race Details

links to past races
Sunday 23rd June
Sunday 9th June
Sunday 2nd June
Sunday 19th May
Sunday 12th May
Sunday 5th May
Sunday 28th April
Sunday 24th March
Sunday 17th March
Sunday 24th Feb
Sunday 17th Feb
Sunday 10th Feb


latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership