Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VCV.

All riders must be current VCV members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to those who have not raced with the Vets in the last 5 years.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VCV Open races can be entered online via the VCV Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

Results

Club Races
Stawell Landsborough West 50.5km Handicap
Sunday 12th May 2019

The Field

  peter wemyss
  Peter Wemyss

Scratch
Sean Prins, Peter Wemyss, Edwin Irvine and Frank Kean.

9.00 minutes
Danny Monaghan, Les Dunn and Dean Hayward.

17.00 minutes
Meg Parnaby, Kevin Grellet and Terri Clarke


How the Race Unfolded.
The limit riders were caught at Campbells Bridge, 36km into the race, by the second scratch riders, with Meg Parnaby surviving the hills and working with the bunch to the finish.

The scratch riders were about 3 minutes behind at Campbells Bridge, and only caught the leading riders near the top of the hill back into Stawell, with just under a kilometer to go.

Peter Wemyss out sprinted Danny Monaghan to the line, with Frank Kean third.

Fastest time went to Peter Wemyss from Frank Kean.


Race Results

1st Peter Wemyss
2nd Danny Monaghan
3rd Frank Kean
4th Sean Prins



Winners Time
Peter Wemyss - 1 hour 21 minutes 47 seconds
Average speed of 37.04kph

Fastest Time
Peter Wemyss - 1 hour 21 minutes 47 seconds
Average speed of 37.04kph

Averages at Campbells Bridge (35.5km)
Limit - 30.07kph
2nd scratch -33.89kph
Scratch - 37.47kph

 

Weather Conditions
10 to 15kph north westerly.

 





 

     

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

kevin

Kevin Grellet
produced a winning effort for the second year running, to win the Greg Smith Memorial again in 2019.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
 
2019
Sunday 19th May
Sunday 12th May
Sunday 5th May
Sunday 28th April
Sunday 24th March
Sunday 17th March
Sunday 24th Feb
Sunday 17th Feb
Sunday 10th Feb
 
2018
Sunday 9th Dec
Sunday 2nd Dec
Sunday 25th Nov
Sunday 18th Nov
Sunday 11th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 28th Oct
Sunday 21st Oct
Sunday 14th Oct
Sunday 7th Oct
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership