Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Men and Women 30 years and older are eligible to join the VCV.

All riders must be current VCV members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to those who have not raced with the Vets in the last 5 years.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

vvcc_open

VCV Open races can be entered online via the VCV Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

Results

Club Races
Stawell Joel South 47.2km Handicap
Sunday 6th October 2019

The Field

  john
  John McIntyre

Scratch
Sean Prins, Edwin Irvine and Frank Kean.

10.00 minutes
Dean Hayward and Peter Parnaby

21.00 minutes
John McIntyre and Kevin Grellet


How the Race Unfolded.
A slow moving flock of sheep being herded along the course forced a course change before the start, and the race became an out and back from Stawell to Joel South.

A strong north westerly helped keep speeds high on the outward journey, but was swirling a lot and at stages was alternating from opposite sides of the road.

At the turn all bunches were well up on handicap, and on turning most riders were unprepared for the sudden blast of wind they faced.

On the return journey, the strength of the wind tended to level out the differences between the bunches, will all struggling to get up any speed.

The limit riders did very well to maintain an overall average of 29kph and crossed the line 2 minutes clear of the mid bunch, with scratch a further 2 minutes behind.

John McIntyre took out the race from Kevin Grellet, with Peter Parnaby third. Frank Kean recorded the fastest race time.


Race Results
1st John McIntyre
2nd Kevin Grellet
3rd Peter Parnaby
4th Dean Hayward


Winners Time
John McIntyre - 1 hour 37 minutes 26 seconds
Average speed of 29kph

Fastest Time
Frank Kean - 1 hour 20 minutes 23 seconds
Average speed of 35.23kph

Averages at the turn 24.6km
Limit - 34.16kph
Mid bunch - 37.9kph
Scratch - 40.84kph

Averages at the finish
Limit - 29kph
Mid bunch - 32.2kph
Scratch - 35.23kph

 

Weather Conditions
Strong north westerly.

 





 

     

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

john

John McIntyre
Took out the Fyans Creek Handicap from Kevin Grellet and Terri Clarke.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
 
2019
Sunday 27th Oct
Sunday 20th Oct
Sunday 13th Oct
Sunday 6th Oct
Sunday 29th Sept
Sunday 22nd Sept
Sunday 15th Sept
Sunday 8th Sept
Sunday 1st Sept
Sunday 23rd June
Sunday 9th June
Sunday 2nd June
Sunday 19th May
Sunday 12th May
Sunday 5th May
Sunday 28th April
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership