Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VCV.

All riders must be current VCV members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced with the Vets before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VCV Open races can be entered online via the VCV Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

Results

Club Races
Fyans Creek 43.5km Handicap
Sunday 16th September 2018

The Field

  tony
  Tony Lloyd

Scratch
Frank Kean, Malcolm Hayes and Edwin Irvine

11 minutes
Les Dunn, Meg Parnaby and Tony Lloyd

17 minutes
Alan Barnett, Kevin Grellet and Peter Mayo.


How the Race Unfolded.
The limit riders rode a steady pace to the turn at 25.5km, but were only a minute ahead of the 11 minute bunch, who were being driven by Tony Lloyd.

Scratch lost Malcolm Hayes on McKrackens Hill on the way out -he was having one of the those "no legs" bad days - which left them with little hope of catching the other riders, but they had still averaged a very good 36.5kph to the turn.

On the return journey the 11 minute bunch caught the limit riders not long after the turn, and both bunches stayed together until McKrackens Hill, with about 5km to go, where the three 11 minute riders pulled away.

Tony Lloyd easily won the sprint from Meg Parnaby and Les Dunn, with the limit riders finishing a minute later. Kevin Grellet took out fourth place.

Frank Kean recorded fastest race time.

Race Results
1st Tony Lloyd
2nd Meg Parnaby
3rd Les Dunn
4th Kevin Grellet

Winners Time
Tony Lloyd - 1 hour 20 minutes 57 seconds
Average speed of 32.2kph

Fastest Time
Frank Kean - 1 hour 14 minutes 46 seconds
Average speed of 34.9kph

Averages at the turn (25.5km)
Limit - 29.5kph
2nd Scratch - 33.02kph
Scratch - 36.5kph

Averages at the finish
Limit - 29.7kph
2nd Scratch - 32.2kph
Scratch - 34.9kph





 

     

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

kevin

Kevin Grellet
took out the sprint from Terri Clarke and Crystal Wemyss in the Fyans Creek Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
 
2018
Sunday 14th Oct
Sunday 7th Oct
Sunday 30th Sept
Sunday 23rd Sept
Sunday 16th Sept
Sunday 9th Sept
Sunday 2nd Sept
Sunday 26th Aug
Sunday 12th Aug
Sunday 24th June
Sunday 10th June
Sunday 3rd June
Sunday 20th May
Sunday 13th May
Sunday 29th April
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership