Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VCV.

All riders must be current VCV members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced with the Vets before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VCV Open races can be entered online via the VCV Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

Results

Club Races
Stawell Campbells Bridge 50.5km Handicap
Sunday 27th August 2017

The Field

  drew
  Drew Heard

Scratch
Shaun Blackie, Wayne Klauss and Frank Kean

7.30 minutes
Edwin Irvine and Peter Wemyss

11 minutes
Dean Hayward and Drew Heard

32 minutes 30 sec
Kevin Grellet.

Race Results
1st Drew Heard
2nd Frank Kean
3rd Edwin Irvine
4th Wayne Klauss



How the Race Unfolded.
A strong almost southerly made conditions tough for the small field, but lone rider Kevin Grellet battled on and nearly made it to the finish, only getting caught about 3km from the line.

Scratch picked up second scratch with about 5km to go, and then caught second limit riders Heard and Hayward near the top of the first hill into Stawell, with about 800m to go.

Frank Kean got a good break up the last climb to the line, and looked an almost certain winner, but the last 200m flattened out and allowed the power of Drew Heard to come into play, with Heard putting in a desparate last minute charge to just edge out Kean right on the line, to win by perhaps a tyre width.

Winners Time
Drew Heard - 1 hour 29 minutes 05 seconds
Average speed of 32.34kph

Fastest Time
Frank Kean - 1 hour 22 minutes 40 seconds
Average speed of 36.65kph

Weather Conditions
Strong south south westerly.





 

 

 

 

     

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

malcolm

Malcolm Hayes
just pipped Danny Monaghan to take out the Christmas Handicap sprint.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
 
2018
Sunday 9th Dec
Sunday 2nd Dec
Sunday 25th Nov
Sunday 18th Nov
Sunday 11th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 28th Oct
Sunday 21st Oct
Sunday 14th Oct
Sunday 7th Oct
Sunday 30th Sept
Sunday 23rd Sept
Sunday 16th Sept
Sunday 9th Sept
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership