Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VCV.

All riders must be current VCV members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced with the Vets before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VCV Open races can be entered online via the VCV Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

Results

Club Races
Fyans Creek 43.5km Handicap
Sunday 17th September 2017

The Field

  wayne klauss
  Wayne Klauss

Scratch
Wayne Klauss and Frank Kean

3 minutes 15 sec
Dean Hayward, Aidan Leahy and Peter Wemyss

17.30 minutes
Meg Parnaby.

25.30 minutes
Kevin Grellet and Peter Mayo.

Race Results
1st Wayne Klauss
2nd Frank Kean
3rd Peter Wemyss
4th Kevin Grellet



How the Race Unfolded.
The two scratch riders Wayne Klauss and Frank Kean set a cracking pace from the start and had the second scratch riders caught just before the turn, at 25.5kms into the race. Peter Wemyss joined with scratch and together they rode down Meg Parnaby just before McKrackens Hill, with about 7km to go, then caught the limit riders soon after with about 4km to go.

Knowing he could not outsprint Klauss, Frank Kean attacked with about 1.5km to go, and got a 50m lead, but Wemyss and Klauss gradually pulled him back, and with about 300m to go, Wayne Klauss bridged the gap and went on to win easily from Kean and Wemyss.

Winners Time
Wayne Klauss - 1 hour 10 minutes 06 seconds
Average speed of 37.23kph

Fastest Time
Wayne Klauss - 1 hour 10 minutes 06 seconds
Average speed of 37.23kph

Weather Conditions
Light to medium north easterly wind.





 

 

 

 

     

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

malcolm

Malcolm Hayes
just pipped Danny Monaghan to take out the Christmas Handicap sprint.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
 
2018
Sunday 9th Dec
Sunday 2nd Dec
Sunday 25th Nov
Sunday 18th Nov
Sunday 11th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 28th Oct
Sunday 21st Oct
Sunday 14th Oct
Sunday 7th Oct
Sunday 30th Sept
Sunday 23rd Sept
Sunday 16th Sept
Sunday 9th Sept
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership