Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.


Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Membership Form


VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.


Club Races
Greg Smith Memorial Mt Arapiles 54.8km Handicap
Sunday 14th May 2017

The Field

  Peter Wemyss

Frank Kean and Steve Monks.

7.30 minutes
Edwin Irvine and Peter Wemyss

12 minutes
Dean Hayward and Aidan Leahy

23 minutes
Meg Parnaby and Ross Lumley.

How the Race Unfolded.
A mostly sunny morning, with cool but mild temperatures and virtually no wind made for superb racing conditions.

Meg Parnaby and Ross Lumley headed off from the 23 minute mark, and were making good time the first time onto the Wimmera highway after 18km. They had averaged 30.35kph and led the second limit riders Hayward and Leahy, who had averaged 34kph to this point, by 7 minutes. The second scratch riders Wemyss and Irvine were a further 3 min 30 seconds behind, averaging 35.2kph while scratch were another 5 minutes back at the turn, averaging 38.1kph.

After the second lap onto the highway, at 44.3km, the limit pair had maintained their average at 30.33kph and still had a lead of 3 min 15sec over the now combined middle bunches, who had also maintained a steady 35.2kph. Over the second lap scratch had slowed a little to 37.52kph, and had their work cut out, still being 3 minutes behind.

At the bottom of the climb, after 50.3km, the limit pair of Parnaby and Lumley had slowed a little to average 30.12kph and had a lead of 1min 30sec over the mid field riders, who had slowed slightly as well to average 35.01kph. Scratch was still 2min 27sec down at this point, having averaged 37.2kph to the bottom of the climb.

The battle up the climb saw riders dropping off, but Meg Parnaby put in a ripper of a ride, taking a whopping 1min 22 seconds off her previous best, to post a climbing time of 15min 49sec. However, she was caught with about 500m to go by Peter Wemyss, closely followed by Edwin Irvine, who went on to take out first and second places, Wemyss finishing 5 seconds ahead of Irvine. Parnaby was third a further 21 seconds later. Steve Monks battled through the remaining field to finish a minute and half behind the winner and take out race fastest time.

Edwin Irvine also recorded his second fastest climb time ever, and his best in an Arapiles race, taking 4 seconds off his previous best race time to record 13min 59sec.


Race Results
1st Peter Wemyss
2nd Edwin Irvine
3rd Meg Parnaby
4th Steve Monks

Winners Time
Peter Wemyss - 1 hour 40 minutes 2 seconds
Average speed of 32.86kph

Fastest Time
Steve Monks - 1 hour 34 minutes 2 seconds
Average speed of 34.96kph

Weather Conditions
Virtually no wind at all.








Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races


Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then took out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June


latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership