Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.


Men and Women 30 years and older are eligible to join the VCV.

All riders must be current VCV members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to those who have not raced with the Vets in the last 5 years.

More info on our Membership Page
Join Online Now.


VCV Open races can be entered online via the VCV Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.


Club Races
Fyans Creek 43.5km Handicap
Sunday 12th November 2017

The Field


Steve Monks, and Wayne Klauss

2 minutes 30 sec
Sean Prins and Aidan Leahy

3 minutes 45 sec
Danny Monaghan, Dean Hayward, Malcolm Hayes and Edwin Irvine.

14 minutes 30 sec
Meg Parnaby and John McIntyre.

19 minutes
Kevin Grellet, Les Power, Alan Barnett, and Peter Mayo.

How the Race Unfolded.
The day was warm with temperatures in the mid 20's but virtually no wind.

The four limit riders made good time out to the turn at 25.5km, averaging 30.5kph. Meg Parnaby and John McIntyre turned just over two minutes later, averaging 31.4kph.

However, second scratch riders Sean Prins and Aidan Leahy took off with the accelerator flat, trying to reel in the bunch in front, who were only 75 seconds ahead, which they finally did after about 12km, on top of McCracken Hill. Once these two bunches combined, it was all over for the depleted scratch bunch, but they still needed to catch the bunches in front.

The combined second and third scratch bunches turned about 6 minutes 30 seconds behind limit, having averaged just over 38kph to the turn, about the same speed as the 2 scratch riders.

On the return 18km journey, the second scratch bunch caught second limit with about 5km to go, and finally reeled in the limit riders with about 1km to go.

In the final sprint, Malcolm Hayes just pulled past Edwin Irvine in the last 20 metres, to win ahead of Irvine and Aidan Leahy, who took out race fastest time.

Race Results
1st Malcolm Hayes
2nd Edwin Irvine
3rd Aidan Leahy
4th Sean Prins

Winners Time
Malcolm Hayes - 1 hour 10 minutes 58 seconds
Average speed of 36.77kph

Fastest Time
Aidan Leahy- 1 hour 9 minutes 47 seconds
Average speed of 37.4kph

Weather Conditions
Virtually no wind.








Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

links to past races
Sunday 15th March
Sunday 1st March
Sunday 23rd Feb
Sunday 16th Feb
Sunday 27th Oct
Sunday 20th Oct
Sunday 13th Oct
Sunday 6th Oct
Sunday 29th Sept
Sunday 22nd Sept
Sunday 15th Sept
Sunday 8th Sept


latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership