Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.


Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Membership Form


VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.


Club Races
Xmas Handicap 43.5km Handicap
Sunday 10th December 2017

The Field

  Peter Mayo

Frank Kean, Sean Prins and Wayne Klauss

3 minutes 15 seconds
Aidan Leahy and Steve Monks

6 minutes 30 seconds
Edwin Irvine, Drew Heard and Dean Hayward.

14 minutes
Meg Parnaby, Alan Barnett and Ross Lumley.

25 minutes 30 seconds
Kevin Grellet and Peter Mayo.

How the Race Unfolded.
Limit riders Peter Mayo and Kevin Grellet set a good pace on the Fyans Creek course, out to the turn near the highway, coping well with the slight head wind to average 28.54kph, about half a kilometer above expected handicap time, and giving them an early advantage over the other bunches.

Second limit averaged 32kph to the turn, as expected, while the following 3 bunches were slightly under, with the mid field bunch averaging 34.8kph, second scratch averaging 36.36kph and scratch 38kph.

The wind must have favoured the return journey, as all bunches increased their averages back to the finish. Over McCracken Hill, limit still had a good lead, with second limit chasing hard. Further back the remaining 3 bunches were all closing on each other, but all were still riding strongly.

However there was no catching the limit riders, who were revelling in the relatively calm conditions and went on to win, with Peter Mayo taking line honours from Kevin Grellet. Second limit was next in, with Meg Parnaby taking third from Ross Lumley in fourth place.

Not far behind, the rest of the field were all coming together with scratch catching second scratch with about 300m to go, and the combined bunch finishing about 10 seconds behind the 6 minute riders. Frank Kean took fastest time from Sean Prins.

Race Results
1st Peter Mayo
2nd Kevin Grellet
3rd Meg Parnaby
4th Ross Lumley

Winners Time
Peter Mayo - 1 hour 22 minutes 6 seconds
Average speed of 29kph

Fastest Time
Frank Kean - 1 hour 9 minutes 39 seconds
Average speed of 38.58kph

Weather Conditions
Light variable winds.


Club Awards for 2017

Aggregate Winner - Meg Parnaby

Backmarkers Championship - Frank Kean

Most Improved Rider - no award given

Rider of the Year - no award given








Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races


Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then took out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June


latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership