Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

Results

Club Races
Stawell/Landsborough West 50km Handicap
Sunday 10th September 2017

The Field

  Aidan
  Aidan Leahy

Scratch
Shaun Blackie, Wayne Klauss and Frank Kean

9 minutes
Dean Hayward, Aidan Leahy and Peter Wemyss

18 minutes
John McIntyre and Meg Parnaby.

29 minutes
Kevin Grellet and Peter Mayo.

Race Results
1st Aidan Leahy
2nd Peter Wemyss
3rd Meg Parnaby
4th Dean Hayward



How the Race Unfolded.
A sunny day and light winds resulted in good racing conditions, with Peter Mayo and Kevin Grellet riding well to average 28kph at the turn at Landsborough West. Meg Parnaby and John McIntyre turned next 5min 20sec behind, averaging 31.12kph, but the second scratch bunch were motoring, powered along by Peter Wemyss and Aidan Leahy, and were only 2min 25sec behind at the turn, having averages 35.7kph. making scratches chances of catching them very slim.

On the return journey second scratch caught second limit with about 15km to go, then the combined bunch went on to catch the limit riders over the top of the second long climb heading back to Stawell, with about 8km to go. Aidan Leahy went on to win the sprint from Peter Wemyss and Meg Parnaby.

Wayne Klauss took the fastest race time honours.

Winners Time
Aidan Leahy - 1 hour 26 minutes 05 seconds
Average speed of 34.85kph

Fastest Time
Wayne Klauss - 1 hour 19 minutes 43 seconds
Average speed of 37.63kph

Weather Conditions
Light north easterly swinging to north westerly..





 

 

 

 

     

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then take out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership