Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.


Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VCV.

All riders must be current VCV members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced with the Vets before.

More info on our Membership Page
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Membership Form


VCV Open races can be entered online via the VCV Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.


Club Races
Landsborough West 50.5km Handicap
Sunday 9th April 2017

The Field

  Meg Parnaby

Peter Wemyss, Frank Kean Wayne Klauss, Sean Prins and Steve Monks.

10 minutes
Danny Monaghan, Aidan Leahy and Dean Hayward

18.30 minutes
Meg Parnaby, John McIntyre and Alan Barnett

33.30 minutes
Kevin Grellet


How the Race Unfolded.
A very strong westerly wind rose just before the start, bringing some light showers with it. The wind propelled the limit and second limit riders out to the turn at the 26.5km mark in very quick time, with the second limit riders averaging 36.7kph. Second scratch lost their main powerhouse Aidan Leahy with a puncture half way out to the turn, which put them out of the race, while scratch also averaged a very fast 43kph out to the turn, but relatively speaking not as fast as second limit.

However, after the two limit bunches turned, the wind began to die, and on the return journey was not the really hard slog it initially seemed it would be, so having got such a lift out to the turn, the second limit riders had established such a lead that scratch had no chance of reeling them in again.

Scratch caught second scratch about the 35km mark, while second limit caught limit around the same point in the race. The second limit riders went on the win easily with Meg Parnaby taking out first place from John McIntyre and Alan Barnett.

Wayne Klauss won the sprint for fastest time from Peter Wemyss.


Race Results
1st Meg Parnaby
2nd John McIntyre
3rd Alan Barnett
4th Kevin Grellet

Winners Time
Meg Parnaby - 1 hour 33 minutes 51 seconds
Average speed of 32.28kph

Fastest Time
Wayne Klauss - 1 hour 18 minutes 12 seconds
Average speed of 38.75kph

Weather Conditions
Strong westerly winds and light showers.








Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races


Malcolm Hayes
just pipped Danny Monaghan to take out the Christmas Handicap sprint.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
Sunday 9th Dec
Sunday 2nd Dec
Sunday 25th Nov
Sunday 18th Nov
Sunday 11th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 28th Oct
Sunday 21st Oct
Sunday 14th Oct
Sunday 7th Oct
Sunday 30th Sept
Sunday 23rd Sept
Sunday 16th Sept
Sunday 9th Sept


latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership