Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

Results

Club Races
Stawell Landsborough West 50km Handicap
Sunday 7th May 2017

The Field

  meg
  Meg Parnaby

Scratch
Wayne Klauss, Peter Wemyss, Frank Kean and Steve Monks.

9 minutes
Edwin Irvine, Shaun Blackie and Drew Heard

25 minutes
Meg Parnaby.

29 minutes
Ross Lumley and Kevin Grellet

35 minutes
Peter Mayo

How the Race Unfolded.
The first part of the race out to the turn at Landsborough West was slightly wind assisted, with Peter Mayo averaging 27.4kph, turning a minute 15 seconds ahead of Lumley and Grellet, who averaged 30.31kph. They in turn were followed by Meg Parnaby another 55 seconds back, having averaged 31.64kph to the turn.

Second scratch turned just over 8 minutes later, having averaged 37.48kph, and scratch was another 5 minutes behind after loosing Peter Wemyss after about 7 kilometers. Scratch averaged 41.47kph to the turn.

On the return journey, the 3 limit bunches came together all at once at the start of the first long hill, with about 15 kilometers to go.

Parnaby and Lumley proved too strong for Mayo and Grellet, and rode away, to eventually hold of second scratch by about 45 seconds. Parnaby crossed the line ahead of Lumley, then Shaun Blackie and Edwin Irvine.

Fastest time went to Steve Monks ahead of Frank Kean.

 

Race Results
1st Meg Parnaby
2nd Ross Lumley
3rd Shaun Blackie
4th Edwin Irvine

Winners Time
Meg Parnaby - 1 hour 38 minutes 24 seconds
Average speed of 30.48kph

Fastest Time
Steve Monks - 1 hour 15 minutes 42 seconds
Average speed of 39.63kph

Weather Conditions
Light to medium south west to southerly winds.





 

 

 

 

     

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then took out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership