Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

Results

Club Races
Fyans Creek 43.5km Handicap
Sunday 5th June 2016

The Field

  Wayne
  Wayne Klauss

Scratch
Sean Prins, Peter Wemyss and Frank Kean.

2.45 minutes
Wayne Klauss, Dean Hayward and Shaun Blackie

5.30 minutes
Edwin Irvine, Tony Lloyd and Drew Heard

23 minutes
Peter Mayo

 

Race Results
1st Wayne Klauss
2nd Drew Heard
3rd Sean Prins
4th Peter Wemyss

 

How the Race Unfolded.
A light west to north westerly made for a head wind for the first 12 km then a tail to the turn, and a head wind back along the Sandbar Road.

At the turn point at 25.5km, with 18km still to go, Peter Mayo had averaged 27.8kph and still had a lead of 6 and a half minutes over second limit, who went off slowly and never really recovered, averaging 34.7kph to the turn, and were caught soon afterwards.

Second scratch went off hard and had averaged 36.58 to the turn, stil 1 minute 15 seconds in front of scratch, who worked hard to get to within 20 seconds at McCrackens Hill, about 5km from the finish.

With about 4km to go, Peter Mayo was caught, but a tired scratch was struggling to close the remaining gap, and only just caught the combined mid bunches with about half a kilometer to go.

Wayne Klauss powered away to a clear win in the sprint, ahead of Drew Heard and Sean Prins, who recorded fastest race time of 1 hour 9 minutes 30 seconds, an average of 37.55kph.


Winners Time
Wayne Klauss - 1 hour 12 minutes 15 seconds
Average speed of 36.12kph

Fastest Time
Sean Prins - 1 hour 9 minutes 30 seconds
Average speed of 37.55kph

Weather Conditions
Lightish north westerly winds.





 

 

 

 

     

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then took out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership