Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.


Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Membership Form


VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.


Club Races
Warrak 44km Handicap
Sunday 29th May 2016

The Field

  Dean Hayward

Sean Prins, Peter Wemyss and Frank Kean.

5 minutes
Wayne Klauss, Dean Hayward, Drew Heard, Peter Parnaby and Danny Monaghan

Race Results
1st Dean Hayward
2nd Danny Monaghan
3rd Peter Parnaby


How the Race Unfolded.
With a last minute change to the handicaps when a rider called in sick, the mid and limit bunches were combined, with 3 scratch riders chasing 5 limit riders.

The limit riders averaged around 34.4kph and were still about 2min 30sec ahead of scratch at the turn. The scratch riders had averaged around 37.53kph to the half way turn, but tired a bit on the homeward journey.

Wayne Klauss did a lot of big turns to keep the limit riders well ahead, with Dean Hayward having something in reserve to easily take out the sprint from Danny Monaghan and Peter Parnaby.

Scratch finished about 55 seconds later with Frank Kean taking out fastest race time, in 1:12:37, an average of 36.36

Winners Time
Dean Hayward - 1 hour 16 minutes 40 seconds
Average speed of 34.43kph

Fastest Time
Frank Kean - 1 hour 12 minutes 37 seconds
Average speed of 36.35kph

Weather Conditions
Light, more from the south.








Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races


Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then took out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June


latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership