Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Club Membership is open to all those 30 years of age and over.

Club Membership is taken out through the AusCycling website.

For more details see the
Membership Page

Results

Club Races
Stawell Landsborough West 51.6km Handicap
Sunday 21st February 2016

The Field

  gary
  Gary Brumby

Scratch
Steve Monks, Sean Prins.

3:30 Minutes
Shaun Blackie, Gary Brumby and Danny Monaghan.

5.45 Minutes
Dean Hayward, Peter Parnaby and Drew Heard

17 Minutes
Meg Parnaby and John McIntyre

Race Results
1st Gary Brumby
2nd Steve Monks
3rd Danny Monaghan
4th Peter Parnaby

How the Race Unfolded.
Being the first race on this course, and with the form of several riders unknown the handicappers didn't know what to expect, but really didn't foresee the two scratch riders averaging 39.4kph out to the turn around point. The course proved to be much faster than anticipated, even with the light head wind on the way out.

The result was that second scratch caught second limit about 3km after the turn on the out and back course, and scratch caught them both with about 15 kilometres to go. The combined bunch then caught limit with about 2 kilometres to go.

With an uphill finish for the last half kilometre, Steve Monks made a break for it, with Gary Brumby and Danny Monaghan in tow. Brumby took the sprint from Monks and Monaghan.

Winners Time
Gary Brumby - 1 hour 22 minutes 52 seconds
Average speed of 37.36kph

Fastest Time
Steve Monks - 1 hour 19 minutes 24 seconds
Average speed of 39.1kph

Weather Conditions
Light south easterly.

 

 

 


 

 

 

     

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

links to past races
 
2020
Sunday 15th March
Sunday 1st March
Sunday 23rd Feb
Sunday 16th Feb
 
2019
Sunday 27th Oct
Sunday 20th Oct
Sunday 13th Oct
Sunday 6th Oct
Sunday 29th Sept
Sunday 22nd Sept
Sunday 15th Sept
Sunday 8th Sept
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership