Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Men and Women 30 years and older are eligible to join the VCV.

All riders must be current VCV members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to those who have not raced with the Vets in the last 5 years.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

vvcc_open

VCV Open races can be entered online via the VCV Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

Results

Club Races
Greg Smith Memorial 55km Handicap
Sunday 1st May 2016

The Field

  meg
  Meg Parnaby

Scratch
Sean Prins, Steve Monks and Peter Wemyss.

8 minutes
Wayne Klauss, Shaun Blackie, Edwin Irvine and Tony Lloyd

30:30 minutes
Meg Parnaby

Race Results
1st Meg Parnaby
2nd Edwin Irvine
3rd Shaun Blackie
4th Wayne Klauss

How the Race Unfolded.
A very strong westerly made the ride along the Natimuk Frances road a tough slog, resulting in the lowest averages ever recorded, and by quite a bit!!

The wind seemed to be somewhat of a leveller, with even scratch struggling to make any headway into it. Lone limit rider Meg Parnaby was struggling to do 17kph downhill out of the seat at times on the leg to Mitre, while scratch quite often wasn't going a lot faster either.

To the bottom of the final climb, Meg Parnaby managed to average just over 28kph, while second scratch was 33.7kph and scratch 35.86kph. After such a tough race, most climbing times were well outside riders best, but once again Meg Parnaby produced a good time and deserved the solo win.

Second scratch got up for the minor placings (Irvine, Blackie and Klauss) just ahead of scratch rider Steve Monks, who recorded the fastest overall race time with an average of 33.9kph.

Winners Time
Meg Parnaby - 2 hour 05 minutes 14 seconds
Average speed of 26.35kph

Fastest Time
Steve Monks - 1 hour 37 minutes 19 seconds
Average speed of 33.9kph

Weather Conditions
Very strong westerly winds.





 

 

 

     

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Parnaby
broke clear on the final hill to take out the Stawell Racecourse Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
 
2019
Sunday 13th Oct
Sunday 6th Oct
Sunday 29th Sept
Sunday 22nd Sept
Sunday 15th Sept
Sunday 8th Sept
Sunday 1st Sept
Sunday 23rd June
Sunday 9th June
Sunday 2nd June
Sunday 19th May
Sunday 12th May
Sunday 5th May
Sunday 28th April
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership