Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VCV.

All riders must be current VCV members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to those who have not raced with the Vets in the last 5 years.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VCV Open races can be entered online via the VCV Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

Results

Club Races
Stawell Campbells Bridge 50.5km Handicap
Sunday 28th June 2016

The Field

  frank
  Frank Kean

Scratch
Sean Prins, Peter Wemyss and Frank Kean.

2.15 minutes
Wayne Klauss, Gary Brumby and Grace Phang

5.30 minutes
Edwin Irvine, Dean Hayward and Shaun Blackie

22 minutes
Meg Parnaby

 

Race Results
1st Frank Kean
2nd Peter Wemyss
3rd Edwin Irvine
4th Sean Prins

 

How the Race Unfolded.
Frosty conditions greeted those brave souls who fronted for the 50km Landsborough West out and back handicap.

Meg Parnaby went off as the lone limit rider, and riding with the side to slightly head wind on the way out, had averaged 28.4kph to the 26km turn point. She still led by 7min 30sec over second limit at this stage.

Second limit managed 34.6kph to the turn, and second scratch would have average about 35.4kph, except they got caught at about the 22km mark by the outstanding performers on the day, scratch, who seemed to be much less affected by the conditioins and averaged 37.44kph to the turn.

Once the back 2 bunches got together, it wasn't long before they caught the second limit riders, who had not much over a minute lead at the turn. With 12km to go, the 3 main bunches were together, and eventually caught limit rider Meg Parnaby with 4km to go.

On the first of the 2 short sharp climbs to the line, Frank Kean, Peter Wemyss, Sean Prins and Edwin Irvine got away, with Frank Kean taking advantage of the uphill sprint to take the win from Peter Wemyss and Edwin Irvine.


Winners Time
Frank Kean - 1 hour 19 minutes 49 seconds
Average speed of 37.66kph

Fastest Time
Frank Kean - 1 hour 19 minutes 49 seconds
Average speed of 37.66kph

Weather Conditions
Lightish north north east to northerly winds.





 

 

 

 

     

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

kevin

Kevin Grellet
produced a winning effort for the second year running, to win the Greg Smith Memorial again in 2019.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
 
2019
Sunday 19th May
Sunday 12th May
Sunday 5th May
Sunday 28th April
Sunday 24th March
Sunday 17th March
Sunday 24th Feb
Sunday 17th Feb
Sunday 10th Feb
 
2018
Sunday 9th Dec
Sunday 2nd Dec
Sunday 25th Nov
Sunday 18th Nov
Sunday 11th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 28th Oct
Sunday 21st Oct
Sunday 14th Oct
Sunday 7th Oct
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership