Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.


Club Membership is open to all those 30 years of age and over.

Club Membership is taken out through the AusCycling website.

For more details see the
Membership Page


Club Races
Chrismas Handicap 44km Handicap
Sunday 11th December 2016

The Field

  Edwin Irvine

Sean Prins, Peter Wemyss, Wayne Klauss, Steve Monks and Frank Kean.

7.45 minutes
Danny Monaghan, Dean Hayward, Tony Lloyd and Edwin Irvine.

20.45 minutes
Meg Parnaby

29 minutes
Peter Mayo


Race Results
1st Edwin Irvine
2nd Danny Monaghan
3rd Dean Hayward
4th Tony Lloyd

How the Race Unfolded.
The race was held over the old circuit around the lake, starting and finishing on Fyans Creek Road near the Halls Gap end.

All riders went out hard, and the race was on track to be a close finish, with Peter Mayo going through the Mt Dryden intersection at the 37km mark with a lead of 2 minutes over Meg Parnaby, having averaged 27.98kph to that point. Parnaby had averaged 30.7kph and was 1 minute 20 seconds ahead of the second scratch riders who had averaged 36.19kph to the corner. Scratch was a further 1 minute 50 seconds back, having averaged an impressive 40.12kph to that point.

Over the closing stages of the race, second scratch caught Parnaby with about 1.5km to go, then Mayo with about 800 metres to go.

Edwin Irvine took out the sprint from Danny Monaghan and Dean Hayward, recording a final average of 35.9kph. Scratch finished 40 seconds later with Frank Kean showing off his new form, taking out fastest time easily over Wayne Klauss and Sean Prins.

Winners Time
Edwin Irvine - 1 hour 13 minutes 27 seconds
Average speed of 35.9kph

Fastest Time
Frank Kean - 1 hour 6 minutes 24 seconds
Average speed of 39.75kph

Weather Conditions
Lightish south easterly.

Club Awards for 2016

Aggregate Winner - Sean Prins

Backmarkers Championship - Sean Prins

Most Improved Rider - no award given

Rider of the Year - no award given








Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

links to past races

Past race results can be viewed on our Race Results page, with records of most events stretching back to 2007.

Visit our Results Archive.

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race etiquette contact us membership