Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.


Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VCV.

All riders must be current VCV members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced with the Vets before.

More info on our Membership Page
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Membership Form


VCV Open races can be entered online via the VCV Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.


Club Races
Stawell/Campbells Bridge 50.5km Handicap
Sunday 8th November 2015

The Field

  Meg Parnaby

Peter Wemyss, Frank Kean, Geoff Richards and Sean Prins.

5 Minutes
Wayne Klauss, Crystal Wemyss, Danny Monaghan and Edwin Irvine.

8 Minutes
Drew Heard, Dean Hayward and Sean Blackie

20 Minutes
Meg Parnaby and John McIntyre


Race Results
1st Meg Parnaby
2nd Edwin Irvine
3rd Danny Monaghan
4th Dean Hayward

How the Race Unfolded.
Almost perfect conditions with virtually no wind made for fast times on an otherwise slow course, and suited the limit riders.

Limit riders Meg Parnaby and John McIntyre led off at a good pace and after 35km at Campbells Bridge still led by just over 5 minutes, having averaged 32.81kph to that point.

The second limit riders also rode will, and by Campbells Bridge had averaged 36.61kph, but had the second scratch riders only about 100 meters behind. The two bunches combined a few kilometers later, with the second scratch riders having averaged an exceptional 38.21kph to that point.

A further one and three quarter minutes behind were the scratch riders, slightly handicapped by Frank Kean only having effectively 3 gears, after his gear cable broke on the starting line, but they still managed to average 40.76kph to Campbells Bridge.

On the final climb into Stawell, all the bunches closed in, with Meg Parnaby leading by a small margin, hanging on to take out the race by 13 seconds from Edwin Irvine, Danny Monaghan and Dean Hayward.

Sean Prins took out fastest time by the smallest of margins from Peter Wemyss.

Winners Time
Meg Parnaby - 1 hour 36 minutes 32 seconds
Average speed of 31.39kph

Fastest Time
Sean Prins - 1 hour 18 minutes 27 seconds
Average speed of 38.62kph

Weather Conditions
Very light winds, more from the north or north east, but very little at all.















Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races


Tony Lloyd
Drove the 11 minute riders to victory, then took out the sprint ahead of Meg Parnaby and Les Dunn.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
Sunday 16th Sept
Sunday 9th Sept
Sunday 2nd Sept
Sunday 26th Aug
Sunday 12th Aug
Sunday 24th June
Sunday 10th June
Sunday 3rd June
Sunday 20th May
Sunday 13th May
Sunday 29th April


latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership