Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

Results

Club Races
Fyans Creek 50km Handicap
Sunday 29th March 2015

The Field

  steve monks
  Steve Monks

Scratch
Steve Monks, Danny Monaghan, Geoff Richards and Sean Prins.

5:30 Minutes
Dean Hayward, Rod Hetherington and Edwin Irvine.

13:00 Minutes
Meg Parnaby, Kevin Grellet, Tony Lloyd and Peter Mayo

 

Race Results
1st Steve Monks
2nd Sean Prins
3rd Danny Monaghan
4th Geoff Richards

How the Race Unfolded.
A cool morning but beautiful sunny day with almost no wind greeted riders, and made for fast racing conditions on an already fast course. The scratch bunch on the day, made up of scratch and normally second scratch riders, rode superbly and well above their handicap mark to record 39.5kph out to the turn point, which wasn't far off the time of a normal full scratch bunch. They picked up the rest of the field with about 9km still to go, with their main powerhouse Steve Monks taking out line honours.

Winners Time
Steve Monks - 1 hour 15 minutes 33 seconds
Average speed of 39.3kph (49.5km)

Fastest Time
Steve Monks - 1 hour 15 minutes 33 seconds
Average speed of 39.3kph (49.5km)

Weather Conditions
Virtually no wind at all.

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

     

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then took out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership