Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.


Men and Women 30 years and older are eligible to join the VCV.

All riders must be current VCV members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to those who have not raced with the Vets in the last 5 years.

More info on our Membership Page
Join Online Now.


VCV Open races can be entered online via the VCV Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.


Club Races
Concongella 53km Handicap
Sunday 1st March 2015

The Field

  Meg Parnaby

Peter Wemyss, Frank Kean, Geoff Richards, Danny Monaghan, and Aidan Leahey.

5:00 Minutes
Dean Hayward, Rod Hetherington, Peter Parnaby and Drew Heard.

19:30 Minutes
Kevin Grellet and Meg Parnaby

24:30 Minutes
Les Power

Race Results
1st Meg Parnaby
2nd Kevin Grellet
3rd Peter Wemyss
4th Peter Parnaby

How the Race Unfolded.
With the aid of predominantly tail winds until Campbells Bridge, the second limit riders Meg Parnaby and Kevin Grellet put in a determined effort to hold off the rest of the field after catching limit rider Les Power with 8km to go. Both scratch and second scratch were somewhat handicapped when they both lost riders to different mechanicals at the same place, with about 12km to go. Parnaby out sprinted Grellet to take out the win, 30 seconds ahead of scratch.

Winners Time
Meg Parnaby - 1 hour 44 minutes 15 seconds
Average speed of 30.56kph

Fastest Time
Peter Wemyss 1 hour 25 minutes 5 seconds
Average speed of 37.44kph

Weather Conditions
Light rising to moderate southerly winds









Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

links to past races
Sunday 15th March
Sunday 1st March
Sunday 23rd Feb
Sunday 16th Feb
Sunday 27th Oct
Sunday 20th Oct
Sunday 13th Oct
Sunday 6th Oct
Sunday 29th Sept
Sunday 22nd Sept
Sunday 15th Sept
Sunday 8th Sept


latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership