Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

Results

Club Races
Monaghan On Comeback Trail
Fyans Creek 44km Handicap
Sunday 21st October 2012

  danny
  Danny Monaghan

Led by Danny Monaghan, and ably supported by Tony Rathgeber and Alan Barnett, the 10 minute bunch cruised to any easy win in the Grampians Vets forty-four kilometre handicap, held around Lake Lonsdale.

Starting on Fyans Creek Road, the race headed to Mount Dryden, then turned towards Stawell, to do an anti-clockwise loop around the lake.

With the handicappers in doubt as to what speed the bunch would do, after they were caught early the week before, they took full advantage of a generous mark to catch the second limit riders Meg Parnaby and Peter Mayo soon after the half way mark.

Another six kilometres up the road, they reeled in limit rider Shirley Hetherington to hit the lead.

Further back the four minute riders Steve Monks, Dean Hayward and Les Dunn were working hard, and giving the scratch riders Peter Wemyss, Frank Kean, Rod Hetherington and Sean Prins a hard job fulling them back.

With 8 kilometres to go the ten minute riders had the race in the bag, with scratch looking like they may make up the difference on second scratch close to the line.

However, a scratch rider clipped a wheel and went down hard, which brought the scratch riders charge to a holt, leaving the ten minute riders to fight out the finish.

Danny Monaghan took out the sprint from Tony Rathgeber, with Alan Barnett third.

 

 


 

 

 

     

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then took out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership