Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

Results

Club Races
Laura Gets Up for Maiden Win
Polkemmet Road Handicap
Sunday 19th February 2012

A small field turned up to contest the Polkemmit Road out-and-back handicap over 51km in near perfect conditions on Sunday.

  laura
  Laura White
   

First away were the limit riders, Laura White, Peter Mayo and Les Power, followed 10 minutes later by the 1 minute group of Stuart King, Darryl Elliott and Gerard O’Brien. The Scratch riders, Jason Shipcott and Crystal Wemyss set off a minute later. All three bunches made good time to the turn with 4 minutes 40 between limit and the 1 minute riders with the scratch riders a further 10 seconds back.

Having made up more than half the handicap on the limit riders by the half way mark, the reinforced chasing group looked to have the race covered, however the limit riders dug deep and propelled along by Mayo and the improving Laura White, lifted their average speed on the return journey to ensure a difficult chase was to result.

With 10 kilometres to go the combined scratch and 1 minute riders were still nearly 2 and a half minutes down, however the pace was lifted, primarily by Jason Shipcott, to set up an exciting finish.

The final sprint to the line was taken out by White over Mayo, with the chasing riders hitting the line only 15 seconds later. Stuart King won the sprint for third with Jason Shipcott taking out 4th and fastest time of 1 hour 19 minutes and 7 seconds, an average speed of 38.7kph.

 

 

 

 


 

     

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then took out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership