Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

Results

Club Races
One Race, One Win!
Rifle Butts 46km Handicap
Sunday 12th August 2012

Riding in his very first race, Ararat rider Dean Knights sprinted to a clear victory, taking out the Grampians Vets Rifle Butts 46 kilometre handicap, held near Horsham last Sunday.

  dean
  Dean Knights

Knights rode off eleven minutes, with fellow limit riders Laura White, Meg Parnaby and Peter Mayo.

After a slow start, the limit riders gradually put the pressure on the pedals, and after turning onto the Henty Highway, having covered the first twenty kilometres, were setting a cracking pace.

By this stage of the race, the two and a half minute riders Daryl Elliot, Stuart King and Les Dunn were struggling to make significant inroads into the limit riders lead, but were losing ground rapidly to the chasing scratch riders Peter Wemyss, Drew Heard and Geoff Richards.

At the turn onto Golf Course Road, with ten kilometres to go, the limit riders were still out of sight to the chasing riders, but the scratch riders were only twenty five seconds behind the two and a half minute group, with the catch coming about three kilometres later.

With Laura White doing some big turns out in front, the limit riders stayed well clear of the now combined chasing group. Rounding the last corner with five hundred metres to go, the limit riders lifted the pace, with Knights breaking clear to win easily ahead of Laura White and Peter Mayo.

Peter Wemyss led the rest of the field home, taking out the fastest race time of one hour and fourteen minutes.

 

 

 

 


 

     

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then took out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership