Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.


Men and Women 30 years and older are eligible to join the VCV.

All riders must be current VCV members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to those who have not raced with the Vets in the last 5 years.

More info on our Membership Page
Join Online Now.


VCV Open races can be entered online via the VCV Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.


Club Races
Klauss Storms to Victory
Fyans Creek Handicap
Sunday 7th August 2011


Wayne Klauss

Ararat rider Wayne Klauss stormed to victory in the closing stages of the Grampians Vets 44 kilometre handicap, held from Fyans Creek Road, near Halls Gap, last Sunday.

Part of the six strong scratch group, Klauss didn’t miss a beat, putting in some strong turns in the closing stages of the race to help close the gap to the leading riders when they finally came into sight.

Chasing ten and half minutes to the limit riders, Klauss, along with fellow scratch riders Sean Prins, Dean Hayward, Glenn Ford, Geoff Richards and Peter Parnaby had to push to the limit to close the gap on the leading bunches, with the calm conditions favouring the limit riders.

However, with 12 kilometres to go, the five minute riders Stuart King and Tom Eldridge (having lost Tony Rathgeber a few kilometres earlier with a puncture) came into view in the distance. It took another eight kilometres to reel them in, leaving the limit riders Damian Rabl, Peter Mayo, Meg Parnaby and Geoff Hateley still some distance up the road.

With stong men Klauss and Prins doing some big turns out front, the limit riders were caught just over a kilometre from home, leaving a big bunch sprint to decide the race outcome.

Hayward did the honours early on with a strong lead out before Richards took over, but 150 metres from home Klauss took off, and was too strong for the chasing Glenn Ford, holding on to win with Stuart King third ahead of Sean Prins.

Wayne Klauss also recorded fastest race time with one hour, 10 minutes forty-two seconds.








Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

links to past races
Sunday 15th March
Sunday 1st March
Sunday 23rd Feb
Sunday 16th Feb
Sunday 27th Oct
Sunday 20th Oct
Sunday 13th Oct
Sunday 6th Oct
Sunday 29th Sept
Sunday 22nd Sept
Sunday 15th Sept
Sunday 8th Sept


latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership