Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.


Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VCV.

All riders must be current VCV members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to those who have not raced with the Vets in the last 5 years.

More info on our Membership Page
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Membership Form


VCV Open races can be entered online via the VCV Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.


Club Races
Meg Leads Limit to the Line
Concongella - Joel South Handicap
Sunday 20th February 2011

  Meg Parnaby

When working out the handicaps, a slight mathematical slip up by the handicapper gave the limit riders an unintended advantage last Sunday, resulting in the limit riders remaining unsighted by the back end of the field.

The race was held over the fairly tough 49 kilometre Concongella/Joel South course, with riders turning at Joel Joel to return along the Landsborough Road. Rolling hills going out, rollings hills coming back, with a flat open section in the middle.

Visiting Eureka rider Shirley Hetherington set off from 22 minutes, followed 2 minutes later by Meg Parnaby, Peter Mayo and Damien Rabl. These three riders picked up Hetherington about 15 kilometres later, with all riders then working hard to hold off the chasing groups.

Eleven minute riders Andy Reid and Geoff Richards worked very hard to reel in the limit riders, but they still remained a distant speck. However, they managed to hold off the 3 minute riders Drew Heard, Daryl Elliott, Crystal Wemyss and Peter Parnaby by over a minute at the finish.

Meg Parnaby went on to take out the race from Peter Mayo, with Damien Rabl third.

The 11 minute riders came in quite some time later (due to the afore mentioned miscalculation), followed by the 3 minute riders, with scratch riders Rod Hetherington, Frank Kean, Peter Weymss and Sean Prins making up 2 and a half minutes on the 3 minute riders, to finish close behind them.

Peter Wemyss took out the fastest race time of 1 hour and 19 minutes, an average speed of 37.2kph.

Race Averages
22 minute rider - 31.45 kph
20 minute riders - 32.1kph
11 minute riders - 33.5kph
3 minute riders - 36.1kph
Scratch riders - 37.2kph






Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races


Kevin Grellet
produced a winning effort for the second year running, to win the Greg Smith Memorial again in 2019.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
Sunday 19th May
Sunday 12th May
Sunday 5th May
Sunday 28th April
Sunday 24th March
Sunday 17th March
Sunday 24th Feb
Sunday 17th Feb
Sunday 10th Feb
Sunday 9th Dec
Sunday 2nd Dec
Sunday 25th Nov
Sunday 18th Nov
Sunday 11th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 28th Oct
Sunday 21st Oct
Sunday 14th Oct
Sunday 7th Oct


latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership