Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Club Membership is open to all those 30 years of age and over.

Club Membership is taken out through the AusCycling website.

For more details see the
Membership Page

 
Results

Club Races
Limit Leads a Merry Chase
Rifle Butts Short Course Handicap
Sunday 2nd October 2011

  meg
 

Meg Parnaby

Despite the beautiful day and calm conditions, the start of daylight saving, and perhaps the aftermath of the VFL Grand Final resulted in only 8 riders fronting for the 46 kilometre Rifle Butts short course handicap, starting near Horsham.

Limit riders Meg Parnaby, John McIntyre and Tony LLoyd put up a convincing arguement of being way out of form, then proceeded to carve up the course and record an average speed well above their handicapped average.

This of course meant that the chasing pack of Peter Wemyss, Peter Parnaby, Daryl Elliott, Danny Monaghan and Tony Rathgeber didn’t get a glimpse of them, despite riding hard and up to their form.

Meg Parnaby crossed the line ahead of McIntyre, with Lloyd third, several minutes ahead of the chasing bunch.

Peter Wemyss recorded fastest time of 1 hour and 29 minutes.

Despite the final distance between the bunches, all riders enjoyed the workout and the ideal riding conditions, a rarity in the wind swept plains surrounding Horsham.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 
     

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

links to past races
 
2020
Sunday 15th March
Sunday 1st March
Sunday 23rd Feb
Sunday 16th Feb
 
2019
Sunday 27th Oct
Sunday 20th Oct
Sunday 13th Oct
Sunday 6th Oct
Sunday 29th Sept
Sunday 22nd Sept
Sunday 15th Sept
Sunday 8th Sept
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership