Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.


Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VCV.

All riders must be current VCV members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to those who have not raced with the Vets in the last 5 years.

More info on our Membership Page
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Membership Form


VCV Open races can be entered online via the VCV Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.


Club Races
Shirley Slogs out Solo Win
Fyans Creek Mother's Day Handicap
Sunday 9th May 2010

  Shirley Hetherington

Ballarat cyclist Shirley Hetherington put in a tough solo ride to take out the Grampians Vets Mother's Day Handicap, held last Sunday around the 44km Fyans Creek circuit.

Part of a small bunch of visiting riders from the Ballarat Eureka Club, Hetherington rode off the limit mark of 25 minutes, acting as the hare for the rest of the field to chase.

The light northerly winds were to her advantage, and by the half way mark she was still well ahead of 13 minute riders John McIntyre and Karen James.

Further back 4 minute riders Tony Rathgeber, Alan Barnett and Rod Hetherington looked to have the 7 minute riders Peter James, Les Power and Meg Parnaby well in their sights. However, the scratch riders Dean Hayward, Drew Heard, Danny Monaghan and Sean Prins were also going well, having made up over half their deficit on the 4 minute bunch in front.

At McCrackenÕs Hill, with 12 kilometres to go, the scratch, 4 and 7 minute riders all came together. This combined bunches gathered momentum, setting out after the leading riders, and with 2 kilometres to go, reeled in a tiring McIntyre and Karen James, but Shirley Hetherington was still no where in sight.

Hetherington kept up her pace to the finish, crossing the line well clear of the chasing field.

Dean Hayward won the bunch sprint for second place, also taking out fastest time of 1 hour and 10 minutes. Danny Monaghan was third, followed by Drew Heard.

Photos from the day - Click images to see a larger version.




Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races


Kevin Grellet
produced a winning effort for the second year running, to win the Greg Smith Memorial again in 2019.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
Sunday 19th May
Sunday 12th May
Sunday 5th May
Sunday 28th April
Sunday 24th March
Sunday 17th March
Sunday 24th Feb
Sunday 17th Feb
Sunday 10th Feb
Sunday 9th Dec
Sunday 2nd Dec
Sunday 25th Nov
Sunday 18th Nov
Sunday 11th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 28th Oct
Sunday 21st Oct
Sunday 14th Oct
Sunday 7th Oct


latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership