Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.


Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VCV.

All riders must be current VCV members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to those who have not raced with the Vets in the last 5 years.

More info on our Membership Page
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Membership Form


VCV Open races can be entered online via the VCV Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.


Club Races
Hayward Leads the Scratch Riders Charge
Fyans Creek Handicap
Sunday 8th August 2010

  Dean Hayward

With the scratch riders getting up, Grampians Vets cyclist Dean Hayward timed his charge to the line to perfection last Sunday, taking out a clear win in the 44km Fyans Creek handicap.

Cool but sunny conditions greeted the field as they lined up for the start, with Meg Parnaby and John McIntyre first away.

They made the most of the light winds and their 10 minute start to stay out of sight for most of the race. Four minute riders Stuart King, Damian Rabl and Tom Eldridge also set a solid pace, and at the half way point had taken out time on the 3 minute riders Tony Lloyd, Peter Mayo and Tony Rathgeber, who were soon afterwards engulfed by the scratch riders Dean Hayward, Drew Heard and Alan Barnett.

With 10 kilometres to go the limit riders still held a minute advantage over the 4 minute riders. However, the combined 3 minute and scratch riders were closing in fast, finally catching the 4 minute riders with about 3 kilometres to go.

It was only a matter of time before Parnaby and McIntyre were also reeled in, and that happened with one and a half kilometres to go, bringing the whole field together for the final sprint.

With the final straight a full kilometre in length, it is easy to misjudge the sprint and go too early. Heard lifted the pace early, but Hayward bided his time, making his jump late and quickly opening up a gap to win by several bike lengths from Heard, with Stuart King in third place.

Click image to enlarge
Dean Hayward, Drew Heard and Stuart King

Hayward also recorded the fastest time of 1 hour and 14 minutes.





Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races


Kevin Grellet
produced a winning effort for the second year running, to win the Greg Smith Memorial again in 2019.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
Sunday 19th May
Sunday 12th May
Sunday 5th May
Sunday 28th April
Sunday 24th March
Sunday 17th March
Sunday 24th Feb
Sunday 17th Feb
Sunday 10th Feb
Sunday 9th Dec
Sunday 2nd Dec
Sunday 25th Nov
Sunday 18th Nov
Sunday 11th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 28th Oct
Sunday 21st Oct
Sunday 14th Oct
Sunday 7th Oct


latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership