Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.


Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VCV.

All riders must be current VCV members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced with the Vets before.

More info on our Membership Page
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Membership Form


VCV Open races can be entered online via the VCV Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.


Club Races
McIntyre Leads Limit Riders Charge
Fyans Creek 44km Handicap
Monday 8th March 2010

  John McIntyre

John McIntyre led the limit markers charge last Monday, taking out a well deserved win in the Grampians Vets 44 kilometre Fyans Creek Handicap.

Fortunately, the strong winds forecast did not eventuate, and with the lighter winds favouring the limit riders, they took full advantage of their 13 minute start.

McIntyre rode strongly, driving the limit riders along, ably assisted by Frank Stokes and Meg Parnaby, the trio staying well clear of the chasing packs until the closing stages of the race.

The 7 minute riders Les Power, Peter Mayo, Tom Eldridge and Crystal Wemyss were caught about half way by the hard working 4 minute bunch of Alan Barnett, Peter Parnaby and Stuart King. These two bunches then combined and with 10 kilometres to go had the limit riders in their sights.

Further back the 2 minute riders Sean Prins, Gerard O’Brien and Daryl Elliott were struggling to make up ground on the riders in front, but still kept the 4 scratch riders Frank Kean, Drew Heard, Danny Monaghan and Peter Wemyss at bay.

Over the last 4 kilometres the combined 7 and 4 minute riders were putting in some big turns to try to bridge the gap to the limit riders, but still fell well short, with McIntyre taking out the win from Stokes, and Meg Parnaby coming home third.

Danny Monaghan recorded the fastest time of the day of 1 hour 9 minutes.









Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races


Terri Clarke
Took out her first race win in the Fyans Creek handicap, ahead of Kevin Grellet and Crystal Wemyss.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
Sunday 11th Nov
Sunday 11th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 28th Oct
Sunday 21st Oct
Sunday 14th Oct
Sunday 7th Oct
Sunday 30th Sept
Sunday 23rd Sept
Sunday 16th Sept
Sunday 9th Sept


latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership