Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

 
Results

Club Races
Stuart King of the Sprint
Lake Lonsdale 67km Handicap
Sunday 7th November 2010

  stuart
  Stuart King

Fine mild conditions with very little wind greeted the 16 strong field who lined up for the 67 kilometre double circuit of Lake Lonsdale.

With Meg Parnaby forgetting her shoes, Frank Stokes and Les Power set off from limit, completing most of the first lap before being joined by a now well shod Meggles.

However, one quarter of the way around the second lap, they were caught by the second limit riders Tom Eldridge, Damian Rabl, Stuart King and Peter Parnaby, with Meg and Frank Stokes jumping on the back as they went past.

This bunch kept up their charge, and with Meg doing the odd turn, kept well out of view of the chasing riders.

Second limit riders Sean Prins, Frank Kean, Dean Hayward and Peter Wemyss worked hard to catch the mid field riders Drew Heard, Alan Barnett, Crystal Wemyss and Danny Monaghan with about seven kilometres to go, but the seven minute start they gave to the second limit riders proved way to large.

Peter Parnaby led the sprint out a long way from home, giving Stuart King the perfect spring board to victory, but he had no competition as Eldridge had long since spent all his pennies. Peter Parnaby rolled home for second with Eldridge crossing the line for third.

The combined second and third scratch bunches finished 3 and a half minutes behind, with scratch rider Shane Clark finishing shortly afterward to take out fastest race time.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then take out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership