Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

 
Results

Club Races
Rathgeber revels in Sultry Conditions
Rifle Butts Short Course
Sunday 5th December 2010

  tony
  Tony Rathgeber

Very warm humid conditions proved to be a real challenge for the small field of Grampians Vets riders who fronted for the 46 kilometre Rifle Butts short course, held near Horsham last Sunday.

Meg Parnaby and Les Power led the field away, but their 9 minute advantage was soon eaten up by the 5 minute riders, Peter Mayo, Tony Rathgeber and Tom Eldridge, who caught them towards the end of Rifle Butts Road.

Picking Parnaby up as they went past, they headed off along the highway on the return journey towards Horsham.

Scratch riders Drew Heard, Peter Parnaby and Alan Barnett set off at a good speed, but the humidity got to Parnaby after about 15 kilometres, and he dropped off, making the task for the others more difficult.

The leading bunch, pulled along by the power of Rathgeber, was making good time, and after the turn onto Golf Course Road, was still well ahead.

With about 3 kilometre to go, Rathgeber powered away from Meg Parnaby and Eldridge, going on to score a comfortable win from Eldridge with Parnaby third.

Alan Barnett was first scratch rider home to take out fastest time.

 

 

 


 

 
     

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then took out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership