Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

 
Results

Club Races
Parnaby Breaks Away to Win
Concongella
Sunday 31st January 2010

  peter parnaby
  Peter Parnaby

Grampians Vets rider Peter Parnaby led the 5 minute riders' charge to the line last Sunday, taking out the 46 kilometre Concongella Handicap.

Very warm temperatures and a strengthening north easterly wind, combined with the hilly start out along the Landsborough road, made for difficult riding conditions.

Parnaby combined well with fellow 5 minute riders Tony Lloyd and Stuart King, to have the 7 minute riders Peter Mayo, Tony Rathgeber and Les Power in their sights before Joel Joel, and caught them soon after.

The two bunches combined, until they hit the first of the hills heading back to Stawell along the Navarre road, when they lost the 7 minute riders again.

With a chasing wind, the pace was high, and the three 5 minute riders picked up the lone limit rider Meg Parnaby with about 9 kilometres to go. Meg Parnaby put in an outstanding ride to sit on the back at speeds up to 50 kilometres per hour for the remaining distance.

Further back, the scratch riders Frank Kean, Peter Wemyss and Drew Gray had caught the 3 minute riders Sean Prins, Wayne Klauss and Alan Barnett soon after Greens Creek, and were slowly gaining on the riders in front.

However, the 5 minute riders still had a 400m lead with 2 kilometres to go, and on the final hill, Parnaby made the break, quickly opening up a gap and taking out the race from Stuart King and Tony Lloyd.

Drew Gray recorded the fastest race time of 1 hour, 13 minutes.

 


 

 

 

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then took out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership