Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.


Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VCV.

All riders must be current VCV members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced with the Vets before.

More info on our Membership Page
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Membership Form


VCV Open races can be entered online via the VCV Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.


Club Races
Clark Leads Scratchmen's Charge
Concongella Campbells Bridge Handicap
Sunday 19th September 2010

  shane clark
  Shane Clark

Ararat cyclist Shane Clark was the powerhouse behind the scratch riders when they swept through the entire field to take out the Grampians Vets 53 kilometre Concongella/Campbells Bridge handicap, held last Sunday.

Raced over a new course, the riders left Concongella and headed out to Greens Creek, veered left and cut back to Campbells Bridge, before returning to Concongella through the outskirts of Stawell.

Having recently upped his training regime in preparation for the Grampians Open in November, Clark is starting to hit some form, and together with Sean Prins and Dean Hayward had rounded up the 4 minute riders by the half way mark.

Such was the pace that the 4 minute riders Crystal Wemyss, Alan Barnett and Daryl Elliott could not stay with them, and soon dropped off.

Meanwhile the 8 minute riders Stuart King, Tony Rathgeber and Peter Mayo were in hot pursuit of the limit riders Meg Parnaby and John McIntyre, and finally caught them on the leg back to Stawell, with about 15 kilometres to go.


A few race photos - Click the images to enlarge
Names are from left to right.

Alan, Crystal, Daryl Meg and John Shane, Sean, Dean
Tony R , Stuart Stuart, Tony, Meg

On the long uphill stretch into Stawell, the scratch riders caught the combined leading bunch, charging past them with only King able to handle the pace and hitch a ride.

In the sprint to the line, Clark was once again too strong, and took out the race and fastest time ahead of Sean Prins and Dean Hayward.






Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races


Malcolm Hayes
just pipped Danny Monaghan to take out the Christmas Handicap sprint.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
Sunday 9th Dec
Sunday 2nd Dec
Sunday 25th Nov
Sunday 18th Nov
Sunday 11th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 28th Oct
Sunday 21st Oct
Sunday 14th Oct
Sunday 7th Oct
Sunday 30th Sept
Sunday 23rd Sept
Sunday 16th Sept
Sunday 9th Sept


latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership