Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

 
Results

Club Races
Limit Holds Off All Challenges
Quarry Road Handicap, Sunday 18th April 2010

Grampians cyclists tackled the 47km Quarry Rd circuit on Sunday and enjoyed mild, calm conditions after the strong winds and rain endured the previous week.

Limit markers Les Power, Damian Rabl and Garry Brumby made good use of their 13 minute handicap to set up a commanding lead early in the race.

Strong riding by the 4 minute riders Allan Barnett, Gerard O’Brien, Crystal Weymss and Daryl Elliott saw them run down 9 minute markers Steve Monks, Glenn Ford and Peter Mayo on the approach to the Sand Bar Hill but the limit markers were still out of sight.

Meanwhile, the strong scratch riders Frank Kean, Peter Wemyss, Danny Monaghan and Shane Clark had collared 2 minute markers Sean Prins, Drew Heard and Dean Hayward by mid race, and the combined bunch set out on a high speed chase of the out markers, finally catching the combined 4 and 9 minute riders not far from the finish line.

However, the limit riders had too great an advantage, and went on to take out the placings, with Brumby taking out the sprint to the line over Rabl and Power.

Frank Kean took out the bunch sprint to record the fastest time of 1 hour and 8 minutes. The scratch riders averaged over 40kph, and reached speeds up to 64 km/hr as they approached the finish line.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then took out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership