Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

 
Results

Club Races
Kean Sprints to A Grade Victory
Fyans Creek
Sunday 17th January 2010

  frank kean
  Frank Kean

Some time off the bike over the Christmas break didn’t seem to dampen the form of Grampains Veteran cyclist Frank Kean, who sprinted to victory in the A grade scratch event last Sunday.

Held over the 44km Fyans Creek circuit, nineteen riders contested the 4 divisions. Fresh south westerly winds made for a fast start, but the return journey into the wind more difficult.

Six riders contested the A grade event, with Kean attempting to break up the field several times throughout the race, but still had the legs to get the jump on the others in the final sprint, beating Peter Wemyss to the line.

The B grade riders were all evenly matched, so no rider had the strength to make a break unitl the end. Peter Parnaby launched an attack from the rear in the final sprint to get a good lead, and go on to take the race from Tony Lloyd in second place.

Stuart King was too good for the rest of the field in the C grade event, easily taking out the sprint ahead of Tom Eldridge in second place.

The D grade riders set a fairly leisurely pace for most of the race, only getting down to the serious business over the closing stages. Tony Rathgeber was too strong in the sprint, and took out the division from Damian Rabl.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then took out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership