Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VCV.

All riders must be current VCV members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to those who have not raced with the Vets in the last 5 years.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VCV Open races can be entered online via the VCV Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

 
Results

Club Races
A Eureka Moment for Rod ...
Fyans Creek Handicap
Monday 13th June 2010

  rod
  Rod Heatherington

... but not much gold followed. In a closely fought finish, visiting Ballarat cyclist Rod Heatherington just held off local rider Dean Hayward to take out the Grampians Vets 44km handicap last Monday.

The race was held over the Fyans Creek course around Lake Lonsdale in cool but calm conditions.

Shirley Heatherington, riding off 19 minutes, led the field away, and kept her lead until the 30km mark when she was joined by 12 minute riders Meg Parnaby and John McIntyre.

Further back, 7 minute riders Alan Barnett, Stuart King, Damian Rabl and Peter Mayo rode solidly but were caught about half way by the 5 and a half minute riders Peter Parnaby, Tony Lloyd and Tony Rathgeber. These two bunches combined and charged after the leading riders, catching them about 8 kilometres from home.

Not far behind, 3 and a half minute riders Crystal Wemyss, Gerard O’Brien and Rod Heatherington were joined by 2 minute riders Drew Gray, Dean Hayward and Drew Heard, and were closing in on the larger bunch in front. Both bunches finally came together with about 3 kilometres to go.

In the final sprint, Rod Heatherington led the charge, and got a small break on Dean Hayward, just holding him out to clinch victory. Peter Parnaby crossed the line third.

The scratch riders Frank Kean, Sean Prins and Peter Wemyss could not find the fire power to close on the groups in front, and finished shortly after, with Prins taking out fastest time of 1 hour and 9 minutes.


 

 

 

 

 

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

kevin

Kevin Grellet
produced a winning effort for the second year running, to win the Greg Smith Memorial again in 2019.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
 
2019
Sunday 19th May
Sunday 12th May
Sunday 5th May
Sunday 28th April
Sunday 24th March
Sunday 17th March
Sunday 24th Feb
Sunday 17th Feb
Sunday 10th Feb
 
2018
Sunday 9th Dec
Sunday 2nd Dec
Sunday 25th Nov
Sunday 18th Nov
Sunday 11th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 28th Oct
Sunday 21st Oct
Sunday 14th Oct
Sunday 7th Oct
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership