Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.


Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Membership Form


VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.


Club Races
Close Finish to Xmas Handicap
Fyans Creek Road
Sunday 12th December 2010

  Meg Parnaby

Grampians Vets cyclist Meg Parnaby topped off a very successful year when she took out the narrowest of wins in the Horsham Cyclery Xmas Handicap, held last Sunday.

Riding off 10 minutes, Parnaby, along with Les Power and visiting Ballarat rider Ron Larkin, attacked the 44km Fyans Creek circuit from the start to catch the 13 minute riders Frank Stokes and John McIntyre soon after the half way mark.

Combined, they set out after the lone limit rider, Shirley Hetherington, soon adding her to their number.

Meanwhile, the five minute riders Tony Lloyd, Tony Rathgeber and Daryl Elliott were making up time on the 7 minute riders Damian Rabl, Tom Eldridge and Peter Mayo, with the two bunches also coming together soon after the halfway point.

Further back the 3 minute riders Alan Barnett, Drew Heard and Stuart King were battling hard to make inroads on the riders ahead, while the scratch riders Dean Hayward, Frank Kean and Rod Hetherington were also making slow progress.

Over McCracken’s Hill, with about 12 kilometres to go, the lead riders still held a two minute advantage over the combined 5 and 7 minute riders, with the 3 minute and scratch riders each a further 40 seconds and 30 seconds behind respectively.

With 6 kilometres to go, the 3 minute riders had bridged the gap to the combined 5 and 7 minute bunch, but it was too late to make a difference to the race outcome.

Over the closing stages, the leading riders kept their momentum up, largely through the efforts of Parnaby and Larkin, finishing well clear of the chasing riders. After a long charge to the line, Parnaby just held on to win narrowly from Larkin and Stokes, with Shirley Hetherington coming home in fourth place.

The scratch riders just caught the tail of the field in the finishing straight, with Dean Hayward taking out the sprint for fastest time, clocking 1 hour 9 minutes and 4 seconds.

Click images to enlarge
John and Frank S early on Ron, Meg & Les
Peter, Damian & Tom Daryl, Tony and Tony
Alan, Stuart & Drew Frank K, Rod & Dean
Combined 5 & 7 minute 3 minute riders
Scratch Getting a bit wet!
Leaders with 12km to go ... ... and still drizzling
5 and 7 minute bunch 3 minutes at the Green Hole
Scratch at the Green Hole



Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races


Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then took out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June


latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership