Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.


Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VCV.

All riders must be current VCV members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced with the Vets before.

More info on our Membership Page
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Membership Form


VCV Open races can be entered online via the VCV Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.


Club Races
Clark Takes Out Arapiles Classic
Mt Arapiles Classic
Monday 11th April 2010

Grampians Veteran Cyclists competed in the annual Mt. Arapiles Classic on Sunday.

The race, from Horsham, via Noradjuha, to the top of “The Rock”, was raced on the same day as the famed Paris-Roubaix Classic, also known as the Hell of the North. Because the Paris-Roubaix includes 60km of cobblestone roads, the much-coveted trophy is adorned with a piece of cobblestone.

Accordingly, the winner of Sundays classic was to be awarded a trophy adorned with a rock!

A strong, gusty Westerly wind and showers made for an unpleasant start to the race, as 15 ½ minute markers Damian Rabl, Meg Parnaby and Tom Eldridge set off, followed 3 minutes later by Steve Monks, Tony Rathgeber and Les Power.

Further back, new rider Shane Clark drove the 2 ½ minute bunch of Sean Prins, Dean Hayward and Drew Heard, and when they joined forces with Geoff Richards, Gerard O’Brien, Allan Barnett, Daryl Elliott and Peter Parnaby heading into Noradjuha, the combined bunch worked strongly into the wind, safely holding at bay the pursuing scratch markers Frank Kean, Peter Wemyss, Danny Monaghan and Tim Schneider, and rounding up the limit markers with 10km to ride.

As riders began the ascent of Arapiles, O’Brien and Clark broke clear of the field and went head to head until the final kilometre when Clark attacked and went on to a comfortable win, recording the fastest time in doing so. O’Brien took out second place, and was followed home by Heard, Monks and Barnett.








Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter wemyss

Peter Wemyss
once again recorded fastest time up Mount William in the annual time trial.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
Sunday 11th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 28th Oct
Sunday 21st Oct
Sunday 14th Oct
Sunday 7th Oct
Sunday 30th Sept
Sunday 23rd Sept
Sunday 16th Sept
Sunday 9th Sept


latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership