Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.


Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Membership Form


VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.


Club Races
Middle Markers Take the Placings
Noradjuha 60km Handicap - Sunday 9th August 2009

  peter mayo
  Peter Mayo took out another win.

Cool but relatively calm conditions made for good racing conditions as a smaller field of cyclists tackled the Grampians Vets 60km Noradjuha circuit.

Riding off 12 minutes, the limit riders Tania Walter, Meg Parnaby, John McIntyre and Tony Rathgeber looked to have an unassailable lead half way through the race, still being a very distant speck on the horizon to the 7 minute riders Les Power, Peter Mayo and Peter Parnaby.

However, a determined and sustained attack from the the chasing riders gradually closed the gap, and after turning into the wind at Nurrabiel the gap closed quickly. The two bunches merged several kilometres before Lower Norton, with 7 kilometres to go.

Meanwhile, the scratch riders had their work cut out to make up the seven minutes to the mid field riders, and at this stage were still nowhere in sight.

In the fight to the line, the seven minute riders were too strong for the limit riders, with Mayo taking line honours ahead of Peter Parnaby and Les Power.

The scratch riders finished several minutes later, with Gerard O’Brien taking out the fastest time of 1 hour 39 minutes.











Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races


Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then took out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June


latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership