Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.


Club Membership is open to all those 30 years of age and over.

Club Membership is taken out through the AusCycling website.

For more details see the
Membership Page


Club Races
Schneider Wins Xmas Handicap
Fyans Creek, Sunday 6th December 2009

  Tim Schneider

With almost the entire field contesting the charge to the line, scratch rider Tim Schneider blasted his way to victory to take out the Grampians Vets Christmas Handicap, held last Sunday.

The race was conducted over a 44km circuit near Halls Gap, completing a lap of Lake Lonsdale.

Schneider, along with fellow scratch riders Frank Kean, Peter Wemyss and Danny Monaghan took full advantage of the calm mild conditions, setting a sizzling pace to overhaul the 2 minute riders Gerard O’Brien, Drew Heard, Dean Hayward and Sean Prins soon after the half way mark.

Further ahead, 4 minute riders Tony Lloyd, Peter Parnaby, Geoff Richards and Alan Barnett had reeled in 7 minute riders Peter Mayo, Les Power and Tom Eldridge half way along the Sandbar Road, and had 10 minute riders Meg Parnaby and Damian Rabl in their sights. Only limit rider Larry Bales was still well clear.

The whole field came together soon after McCracken’s Hill, with about 12km to go, and over the last 5 kilometres there were repeated attempts by various riders to break away, but all attempts were quickly chased down.

Half way down the final straight the pace really picked up, with Schneider using his strength and speed to break clear and take the victory by 2 bike lengths from Alan Barnett, with Peter Parnaby third and Drew Heard fourth.

Schneider also recorded the fastest time of the day, of 1 hour 7 minutes, with an average speed of about 40kph.

End of year presentations saw Sean Prins named Most Improved Rider, and Drew Heard earned both Rider of the Year as well as taking out the Aggregate. Gerard O'Brien was runner up in the Aggregate.

Looking for previous races?

All previous races since the site was set up are now in the Race Archive here ...






Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

links to past races

Past race results can be viewed on our Race Results page, with records of most events stretching back to 2007.

Visit our Results Archive.

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race etiquette contact us membership