Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

 
Results

Club Races
Tough Conditions Cause Havac
Ararat/Warrak Handicap, Sunday 6th Sept 2009

  glenn
  Glenn Ford
   

It was a day for the climbers when Grampians Vets riders tackled the tough Ararat/Warrak 40km course last Sunday.

A strong north-easterly added another degree of difficulty to the already tough hilly course.

Riding from 5 minutes, Glen Ford, Peter Parnaby and Peter Mayo made good time on the outward journey, with Parnaby showing good strength into the wind. At the half way point, they had all but made up the 5 minutes 30 seconds on the limit riders Ron Larkin and Les Power, then caught them soon after on the step climb just out of Warrak on the return journey.

With both Parnaby and Ford at home on the hills, they soon broke clear of the other riders, reaching the top of the climb with a good lead over the rest of the field.

The 2 minute 30 riders Alan Barnett, Shane Clark and Tony Lloyd and scratch riders Dean Hayward, Drew Heard and Gerard O’Brien both lost riders on the way out to Warrak, with both groups merging shortly before the halfway point, only to disintegrate completely on the return journey.

Meanwhile Parnaby and Ford were charging home on the mostly downhill run, and went on to win comfortably. Ford crossed the line ahead of Parnaby, with Dean Hayward breaking clear of Alan Barnett in the closing stages, to come home third, and also take out fastest time of 1 hour 11 minutes.

 


 

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then took out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership