Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

 
Results

Club Races
Shauna Takes Out 60km Event
Horsham, Sunday 5th April 2009

  shauna
  Shauna Heard
   

Grampians Veteran cyclists were greeted by a cold, blustery Southerly wind on Sunday as they tackled Horsham’s Noradjuha/Nurrabiel circuit over 60km.

Tough conditions normally favour the scratch bunch, and Frank Kean, Steve Monks, Allan Barnett, Daryl Elliot and Harvey Lang set off at a solid pace into the head wind, and by mid race had halved the lead of the 2 minute bunch to 500 metres.

However, Sean Prins, Gerard O’Brien, Leon Gibson, Drew Heard, Peter Blair and Tony Lloyd all worked hard together, and were safely holding scratch over the concluding stages, whilst closing quickly on the 14 minute markers of Shauna Heard, Peter Mayo, Les Power, Meg Parnaby and Bridget Lang.

With six kilometres to ride, Shauna Heard and Mayo went clear of the limit markers, and were able to hold off the fast finishing second scratch bunch by 50 metres, with Shauna Heard taking out the race ahead of Mayo.

Leon Gibson finished best of the bunch in third place.

Steve Monks took out a well deserved fastest time of 1hour, thirty-five minutes and 20 seconds.


 

 

 

 

 

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then took out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership