Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

 
Results

Club Races
Barnett Bags Victory
Stawell Racecourse Handicap
Sunday 4th October 2009

  alan
  Alan Barnett
   

With some riders away for the Geelong Open, a small field of only 8 riders tackled the Stawell Racecourse 55km handicap last Sunday.

Les Power and Danny Monaghan led the field away in good racing conditions, with a lead of 9 minutes.

Chasing, off 3 minutes 30 seconds, Alan Barnett, Peter Parnaby and Peter Mayo made good time until they lost Mayo after 15 kilometres, but still had made up 2 and a half minutes on the limit riders by the Pomonal turn.

Scratch riders Dean Hayward, Frank Kean and Sean Prins were still about 2 minutes behind at the Pomonal turn, but caught the tiring Parnaby and Barnett 9 kilometres later at Mokepilly.

On the return journey to Stawell, the combined middle and scratch riders overtook the limit riders with 11 kilometres to go, with all riders together until the Black Range 6 kilometres out of Stawell.

Frank Kean broke clear on the last hill, but was swamped about 400 metres from the line, with Alan Barnett going on to win. Dean Hayward just edged out Danny Monaghan for second place.

Dean Hayward recorded fastest race time of 1 hour 28 minutes.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then took out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership