Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

 
Results

Club Races
O'Brien Charges to Victory
Concongella Handicap
Sunday 25th October 2009

  gerard
  Gerard O'Brien
   

Chilly conditions with a strong, gusty wind ensured a tough ride for Grampian Veteran Cyclists as they tackled Stawell’s Concongella 47km circuit on Sunday.

The five minute markers set out aggressively, losing Peter Mayo and Les Power early in the race, leaving Peter Parnaby, Gerard O’Brien and Harvey Lang to chase 18 minute markers Meg Parnaby and Larry Bales.

Scratch markers Frank Kean, Tim Schneider, Drew Heard and Danny Monaghan rode strongly to pick up 2 ½ minute markers Alan Barnett, Sean Prins and Dean Hayward shortly after the turn at Joe Joel.

The combined bunch thundered along the back stretch with aid of the tail wind, touching speeds of 57km/hr as they strived to close in on the leaders.

However, despite losing Parnaby at the halfway mark, O’Brien and Lang maintained a clear lead as they rounded up the limit markers with 5km to ride.

O’Brien broke clear over the concluding stages to record an easy win, with Lang holding on for second place over the fast finishing Schneider, who recorded fastest time of 1 hr 14 mins.


 

 

 

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then took out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership