Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.


Men and Women 30 years and older are eligible to join the VCV.

All riders must be current VCV members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to those who have not raced with the Vets in the last 5 years.

More info on our Membership Page
Join Online Now.


VCV Open races can be entered online via the VCV Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.


Club Races
O'Brien Charges to Victory
Concongella Handicap
Sunday 25th October 2009

  Gerard O'Brien

Chilly conditions with a strong, gusty wind ensured a tough ride for Grampian Veteran Cyclists as they tackled Stawell’s Concongella 47km circuit on Sunday.

The five minute markers set out aggressively, losing Peter Mayo and Les Power early in the race, leaving Peter Parnaby, Gerard O’Brien and Harvey Lang to chase 18 minute markers Meg Parnaby and Larry Bales.

Scratch markers Frank Kean, Tim Schneider, Drew Heard and Danny Monaghan rode strongly to pick up 2 ½ minute markers Alan Barnett, Sean Prins and Dean Hayward shortly after the turn at Joe Joel.

The combined bunch thundered along the back stretch with aid of the tail wind, touching speeds of 57km/hr as they strived to close in on the leaders.

However, despite losing Parnaby at the halfway mark, O’Brien and Lang maintained a clear lead as they rounded up the limit markers with 5km to ride.

O’Brien broke clear over the concluding stages to record an easy win, with Lang holding on for second place over the fast finishing Schneider, who recorded fastest time of 1 hr 14 mins.






Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

links to past races
Sunday 15th March
Sunday 1st March
Sunday 23rd Feb
Sunday 16th Feb
Sunday 27th Oct
Sunday 20th Oct
Sunday 13th Oct
Sunday 6th Oct
Sunday 29th Sept
Sunday 22nd Sept
Sunday 15th Sept
Sunday 8th Sept


latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership