Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

 
Results

Club Races
O'Brien Breaks Clear for Win
Horsham - Rifle Butts Short, Sunday 24th May 2009

 
  Gerard O'Brien
   

Grampians Vets cyclists tackled Horsham’s Rifle Butts 46km circuit on Sunday, and the strong, blustery north-easterly wind ensured the homeward leg would be a true test of the riders stamina.

Limit riders Meg Parnaby and Tony Rathgeber made the most of their 17 minute advantage to set up a good lead over 9 minute markers Les Power and Peter Mayo

The scratch markers Danny Monaghan, Daryl Elliott and Drew Heard rode at speeds approaching 50km on the downwind leg to Nurrabiel, but made up little ground on 2 minute 30 second markers Alan Barnett, Gerard O’Brien and Sean Prins who had caught Power and Mayo along Rifle Butts Rd and were in pursuit of the limit markers.

Approaching Haven, Rathgeber broke clear of Parnaby in a desperate attempt to hold off the chasing bunch, but was caught with one kilometre remaining.

At this point, O’Brien launched an attack which went unanswered and went on to record a comfortable victory, followed by Prins with Barnett third.


 

 

 

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then took out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership