Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

 
Results

Club Races
Power Breaks Away
Stawell Race Course, Sunday 22nd February 2009

  les power
  Les Power
   

Continuing his great run of form, Grampians Vets rider Les Power broke away with 5km to go to take out the Stawell Race Course 56km handicap, held last Sunday.

Riding off 16 minutes, Power and Frank Stokes combined to reel in the limit riders Meg Parnaby and Bridget Lang at the Mokepilly turn, about two thirds of the way through the race.

This group of riders still held a commanding lead over the 8 minute riders Sean Prins, Sean Blackie and Peter Mayo, who in turn were still well clear of the 4 minute riders Leon Gibson, Daryl Elliott, Gerard O’Brien and Tony Lloyd.

Scratch riders Drew Gray, Frank Kean and Harvey Lang rode like demons to catch the 2 minute riders Alan Barnett, Drew Heard, Wayne Krauss and Peter Parnaby a few kilometres before the Mokepilly turn. This group combined to soon bridge the gap to the 4 minute riders, making a large and powerful chasing bunch.

They overtook the 8 minute riders Prins and Blackie with about 10 kilometres to go, but Meg Parnaby and Les Power were still well clear. Having lost Bridget Lang up an earlier hill, Power made his move up the first of the final hills with 5 kilometres to go, pulling away from Parnaby and charging on to score a well earned victory.

 
Click to enlarge
Left to right - Meg Parnaby, Les Power and Drew Heard

Meg Parnaby managed to hang on for second, while Drew Heard came home strongly to claim the big bunch sprint and third place.

Harvey Lang rode well to take out the fastest race time for the day.


 

 

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then took out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership