Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.


Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VCV.

All riders must be current VCV members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced with the Vets before.

More info on our Membership Page
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Membership Form


VCV Open races can be entered online via the VCV Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.


Club Races
Rathgeber Takes Out Second Win
Noradjuha 50km Handicap - Sunday 21st June 2009

  tony rathgeber
  Tony Rathgeber

Grampians Vets limit riders Tony Rathgeber, Meg Parnaby and John McIntyre set a cracking pace to take out the Horsham Noradjuha 50km handicap last Sunday.

Starting with an eight and a half minute lead over the next bunch, the trio made the most of the light tail wind out to Noradjuha to hold a 5 minute lead at the half way point over the 4 minute riders Tony Lloyd, Tom Eldridge, Peter Mayo and Gerard O’Brien.

Click to enlarge  
John, Tony and Meg  

With 8km to go, the limit riders still had a safe buffer of 2 and half minutes over the 4 minute riders, and won comfortably, with Tony Rathgeber taking out the sprint from Meg Parnaby and John McIntyre.

Further back the scratch riders Chris Scott, Leon Gibson, Alan Barnett and Daryl Elliott looked like they were on track to catch the 4 minute riders, having reduced their lead to 2 minutes at the half way point.

However, they faded over the closing stages to finish more than a minute behind them.

Chris Scott recorded the fastest time of the day of 1 hour 24 minutes.









Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races


Malcolm Hayes
just pipped Danny Monaghan to take out the Christmas Handicap sprint.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
Sunday 9th Dec
Sunday 2nd Dec
Sunday 25th Nov
Sunday 18th Nov
Sunday 11th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 28th Oct
Sunday 21st Oct
Sunday 14th Oct
Sunday 7th Oct
Sunday 30th Sept
Sunday 23rd Sept
Sunday 16th Sept
Sunday 9th Sept


latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership