Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VCV.

All riders must be current VCV members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to those who have not raced with the Vets in the last 5 years.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VCV Open races can be entered online via the VCV Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

 
Results

Club Races
Prins Breaks Clear to Win
Quary Road Handicap
Sunday 1st November 2009

  sean prins
  Sean Prins
   

Grampians Veteran cyclists tackled the tough Quarry Rd circiut on Sunday, battling a gusty easterly wind as they circumvented Lake Lonsdale.

Larry Bales put up a gutsy solo ride off his 19 ½ minute handicap to hold off the 10 ½ minute markers Meg Parnaby and John McIntyre until the Sandbar Rd.

At this point, Paranby set off alone in a bid for victory. However, the hard riding scratch bunch of Danny Monoghan, Gerard O’Brien, Drew Heard, Sean Prins and Allan Barnett had reeled in 6 ½ minute markers Wayne Cox, Peter Mayo and Les Power and were in hot pursuit.

Paranaby was overhauled on the steep Quarry Rd hill, and this scratch bunch settled down for a fight to the finish.

Prins attacked inside the last kilometre in what appeared to be a suicidal move, but his strength prevailed and he was able to hold off the fast finishing Drew Heard and Gerard O’Brien to claim a well deserved victory in a time of 1 hour 14 minutes 15 seconds.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

meg

Meg Parnaby
found her legs after struggling the day before at the Seymour Open, taking out the Fyans Creek Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
 
2019
Sunday 24th March
Sunday 17th March
Sunday 24th Feb
Sunday 17th Feb
Sunday 10th Feb
 
2018
Sunday 9th Dec
Sunday 2nd Dec
Sunday 25th Nov
Sunday 18th Nov
Sunday 11th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 28th Oct
Sunday 21st Oct
Sunday 14th Oct
Sunday 7th Oct
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership