Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

 
Results

Club Races
Prins Breaks Clear to Win
Quary Road Handicap
Sunday 1st November 2009

  sean prins
  Sean Prins
   

Grampians Veteran cyclists tackled the tough Quarry Rd circiut on Sunday, battling a gusty easterly wind as they circumvented Lake Lonsdale.

Larry Bales put up a gutsy solo ride off his 19 ½ minute handicap to hold off the 10 ½ minute markers Meg Parnaby and John McIntyre until the Sandbar Rd.

At this point, Paranby set off alone in a bid for victory. However, the hard riding scratch bunch of Danny Monoghan, Gerard O’Brien, Drew Heard, Sean Prins and Allan Barnett had reeled in 6 ½ minute markers Wayne Cox, Peter Mayo and Les Power and were in hot pursuit.

Paranaby was overhauled on the steep Quarry Rd hill, and this scratch bunch settled down for a fight to the finish.

Prins attacked inside the last kilometre in what appeared to be a suicidal move, but his strength prevailed and he was able to hold off the fast finishing Drew Heard and Gerard O’Brien to claim a well deserved victory in a time of 1 hour 14 minutes 15 seconds.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then took out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership